Chemistry Department Seminar Series Fall 2006

date

speaker
(Affiliation)

title
(Click on Title for Abstract)

 
Friday September 1
Dr. Susanna Wu-Pong
Pharmaceutical Sciences
Medical College of Virginia
Alpha Chi Sigma Presents:
"Careers in Pharmaceuticals"
 
Friday September 8
Dr. Michal Sabat
Department of Chemistry
Univeristy of Virginia
"Cooperativity of Intermolecular Forces in Supramolecular Assemblies"
 
Friday September 22

Dr. John Gupton
Department of Chemistry
University of Richmond

"The Application of Vinylogous Iminium Salts to the Synthesis of Pyrrole Containing Marine Natural Products"

 
Friday September 29
Dr. Mary E. Chlebowski
Finnegan, Henderson, Farabow, Garrett & Dunner, LLP
"From the Lab to the Law"
 
Friday October 6
Dr. Christian Melander
Department of Chemistry
North Carolina State Univ.
"Chemical Tools to Probe Biological Function"
 
Friday October 13
Fall Break
 
Friday October 20
HOMECOMING Keynote Speakers
Dr. Jenn Visich ('90)
Associate Director
ZymoGenetics, Inc.
Seattle, WA

Lisa Kilday, J.D. ('98)
Attorney at Law
Staas & Halsey, LLP
Washington, DC
Homecoming Alumni Roundtable Schedule:

1:00 - 3:00 pm: Informal student discussions (PH/CH 3348)
3:30 - 3:45 pm: Refreshments (ISAT 159)
3:45 - 5:00 pm: Alumni Presentations
5:30 - 7:00 pm: Reception at Gilje's (juniors and seniors invited)
7:00 pm: Dinner
 
Friday October 27

Dr. Ernest G. Nolen, Jr.
Department of Chemistry
Colgate University

 
Monday November 6
PH/CH 2212
3:45 - 5:00 pm
Dr. Matthew Bramlett
Department of Chemistry
Duke University (NC)
"Mechanistic Investigations of the A-Cluster of Acetyl-CoA Synthase"
 
Friday November 10
HHS 1302

Dr. Louise Wilkins-Haug
Bringham Woman's Hospital
Boston, MA

"Fetal Interventions for Congenital Cardiac Disease"
Department of Biology Seminar
 
Friday November 17
ISAT 159

Dr. Liliya Yatsunyk
Deptartment of Chemistry
Northwestern Univ.

"Synthesis, Structure, and Magnetic Spectroscopies of Non-Planar Hemes as Models of the Cytochrome b Heme Centers"
 

Monday November 20
PH/CH 2212
3:45 - 5:00 pm

Dr. Victoria Mariani
Department of Chemistry
James Madison University
"Understanding the Protease of Human T-Cell Leukemia Virus"
 
Monday November 27
ISAT 136
3:45 - 5:00 pm

Dr. Alexander Norman
U. Maryland-College Park

"Homopolymers and Block Copolymers in Solution: Nanostructures and Applications"
 
Thursday November 30
ISAT 259
3:45 - 5:00 pm
Dr. Paul Winget
US-EPA
"Modeling Everything Under the Sun: The Convergence of Computational and Environmental Chemistry"
 
Monday December 4
ISAT 259
3:45 - 5:00 pm
Dr. Brian Hammes
Department of Chemistry
St. Joseph's Univ. (PA)
"Bio-inspired Design of Tripodal Ligand Systems: Controlling the Primary and Secondary Coordination Sphere in Metal Complexes"

[Home] [Spring Symposium] [Keynote Speakers][Speaker Information][Past Seminars]